Stop Environmental Racism in the 9th Ward

Fight the Industrial Canal Expansion

  • There are NO Jobs or Benefits for Impacted Communities
  • It Only Benefits Trump Mega-Fundraiser Bollinger Shipyards
  • Waste of 1 Billion of Taxpayer dollars
  • Barge Traffic carrying toxins is Dangerous for the large bordering neighborhoods
  • Damage from pile driving near homes will lower property values and the Corps is protected from liability.
  • This Project calls for a 2nd Canal to be dug in the Lower 9, which will leave homes more vulnerable to flooding.
  • Construction will disturb heavy metals, contaminate the canal, and pollute the entire City.
  • Impede traffic flow, including those driving into St. Bernard, and threaten the community during hurricane season.
  • Existing canal has been improperly maintained, due to nonunion work.
  • Mitigation money should be used to pay reparations to the community for past damages

Problems with the New Freeway

Through the 8th & 9th Wards

  • Benefits only St. Bernard Parish & no benefits to Orleans Parish
  • Trucks can easily use Paris Rd. in St. Bernard to get to I-10
  • 100 Affordable Housing units will be TORN DOWN in Lower 9
  • New Bridges & Bike Paths can be built without this Freeway

What You can Do NOW to . . .

Please Make Phone Calls & Send a Note to the Army Corps

Are You Against the Expansion of the Industrial Canal?

Mayor Landrieu mayor@nola.gov 504-658-4000

Councilmembers

Jason Williams jasonwilliams@nola.gov 504-658-1070

Stacy Head shead@nola.gov 504-658-1060

Susan Guidry sgguidry@nola.gov 504-658-1010

Latoya Cantrell lcantrell@nola.gov 504-658-1020

Nadine Ramsey districtc@nola.gov 504-658-1030

Jared Brossett councildistrictd@nola.gov 504-658-1040

James Gray jagray@nola.gov 504-658-1050

Governor John Bel Edwards 866-366-1121

Congressman Cedric Richmond 504-288-3777

Comments in Writing only to Army Corps of Engineers

By March 1st

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, New Orleans District

c/o Mark Lahare

CEMVN-PDC-CEC

7400 Leake Ave.

New Orleans, LA 70118

mark.h.lahare@usace.army.mil

Are you against a new freeway through the 8th & 9th Wards?

Please Make Calls & Leave this Message

  1. No to the Louisiana State DOTD Florida Project that puts a freeway through New Orleans Black Neighborhoods
  2. Yes to new bridges that have bike/walk access at Florida and Claiborne and a new bike/walk bridge at St. Claude.

Governor John Bel Edwards 866-366-1121

Congressman Cedric Richmond 504-288-3777

Rep. Jimmy Harris harrisj@legis.la.gov 504-243-1960

Rep. Joseph Bouie bouiej@legis.la.gov 504-286-1033

Rep. Neil Abramson abramson@legis.la.gov 504-275-8051

Rep. Walt Leger legerw@legis.la.gov 504-556-9970

Rep. John Bagneris bagnerisj@legis.la.gov 504-243-7783

Rep. Helena Moreno morenoh@legis.la.gov 504-568-2740

State Sen. Troy Carter cartert@legis.la.gov 504-302-3682

State Sen. JP Morrell morrelljp@legis.la.gov 504-284-4794

State Sen. Karen Carter-Peterson 504-568-8346

State Sen. Wesley Bishop bishopw@legis.la.gov 504-284-4794

Mayor Landrieu mayor@nola.gov 504-658-4000

Councilmembers

Jason Williams jasonwilliams@nola.gov 504-658-1070

Stacy Head shead@nola.gov 504-658-1060

Susan Guidry sgguidry@nola.gov 504-658-1010

Latoya Cantrell lcantrell@nola.gov 504-658-1020

Nadine Ramsey districtc@nola.gov 504-658-1030

Jared Brossett councildistrictd@nola.gov 504-658-1040

James Gray jagray@nola.gov 504-658-1050